Ohio Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for Ohio Residents
The residency requirement in filing for divorce in Ohio is that one of the spouses must be a legal resident of the Buckeye State for at least six months, and either of the spouses must have resided in the filing county for at least 90 days.
Ohio Grounds For Divorce
Ohio has both no-fault and fault-based grounds for divorce.
- Incompatibility, unless contested by either spouse
- Living separate and apart without cohabitation for 12 consecutive months or more
- Extreme cruelty
- Imprisonment of either spouse at the time of filing
- Gross neglect
- Habitual drunkenness
- Willful desertion for one year
- Fraudulent marriage contract
Child Custody Law in Ohio
Instead of the term “Custody,” the State of Ohio now refers to “Residential Parent” and “Non-Residential Parent.” With respect to a minor child under 18 years of age, if the court finds it is not of the child’s best interest to stay with either parents, the court may assign a relative to take on the responsibility.
Ohio divorce courts put the child’s best interests as paramount, as they consider some of the factors below in deciding who to designate as Residential and Non-Residential Parents.
- The child’s wishes if the child is of age and has the ability to make sound decisions as determined by the court;
- Wishes of the child’s parent or parents;
- The child’s relationship with the parents, siblings, and extended family;
- Child’s adjustment to home, school, and community;
- Proximity of each parent’s residences;
- Mental and physical health of all individuals involved.
The court may approve a shared parenting plan submitted by both parties.
Guidelines for Ohio Child Support
The Income Shares Model is being followed in the computation of child support in Ohio. Taking into consideration the projected expenses in raising the child and providing for his or her needs, monthly support is determined with the application of these guidelines and the proportional division of each parent’s income.
Child support shall be in effect until the child reaches 18 years old or until he or she finishes high school.
Where to file for a divorce?
Ohio divorce forms may be filed in the county where either of the spouses resides or where the petitioner has lived for at least 90 days prior to filing.
For a fast and inexpensive divorce process, you can file Ohio online divorce forms.
Refer to the “Divorce Requirements for Ohio Residents” above and also review the top online divorce papers sites.
Divorce mediation in Ohio is a voluntary process in which the mediator, a neutral third party, helps the divorcing couples in their dispute through a resolution acceptable to both parties. The couple may enter into mediation before or after filing the Ohio divorce papers to flesh out any disagreement on the divorce details.
Need information for a different state?
You may also visit the Ohio Courts for more information