Important Nebraska Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for Nebraska Residents
To meet the residency requirement in filing for a divorce complaint in Nebraska, either spouse must be a resident of the State for at least a period of one year prior to the filing. This is also applicable to couples who got married in Nebraska but then one of the spouses lived in another State afterwards. The petitioner must give notice to their spouse that a divorce complaint has been filed and must be signed by the respondent within 6 months after filing, otherwise the petitioner will have to repeat the initial process.
Nebraska Grounds For Divorce
Nebraska has both no-fault and fault-based grounds for divorce. The no-fault ground is the irretrievable breakdown of the marriage, while the fault ground is when either spouse is mentally ill and lacks ability to consent to the dissolution of marriage, including a temporary incapacity caused by drug and alcohol use.
Child Custody Law in Nebraska
All divorce parties in Nebraska are required to attend a basic level education course. Nebraska divorce courts recognize joint custody in the child’s best interest. Some of the factors to be considered:
- Wishes of the child;
- Bond between child and parent;
- General health, welfare and social behavior of the child;
- Child’s adjustment to home, school, and community; and
- Mental and physical health of all involved.
Guidelines for Nebraska Child Support
Parents or their lawyers must prepare the Financial Affidavit for Child Support in Nebraska.
Nebraska child support guidelines are based on official guidelines and on the income shares model for calculating child support. Applying these guidelines and proportionally dividing each parent’s income will determine monthly support.
The amount of child support may vary depending on the award or joint physical custody and will be continued until the child becomes emancipated or has reached 18 years of age.
Where to file for a divorce?
Divorce petitioners in Nebraska may file for a Complaint for Dissolution with the Clerk of the District Court in the county where either he/she or the respondent resides. Divorce filings in Nebraska are usually brought before the Superior Courts.
For a fast and inexpensive divorce process, you can file Nebraska online divorce papers.
Refer to the “Divorce Requirements for Nebraska Residents” above and also review the best online divorce sites.
Divorce mediation in Nebraska is a fair, neutral, and professional procedure wherein an unbiased third-party mediator assists in facilitating the outcome of a dispute between divorcing couples. The spouses get facilitated in communication, understanding, and proper direction to their goals and interests as co-parents to their child or children.
Divorce mediation may be requested by either party upon filing the Nebraska Divorce petition.
Need information for a different state?
You may also visit the Nebraska Courts