Divorce Articles

Divorce articles to help get you through a divorce

Massachusetts Divorce Law Requirements
Divorce Residency Requirements in Massachusetts
One of the spouses must be a Massachusetts residence to qualify in filing the divorce forms in the said State. If the grounds for divorce happened outside of Massachusetts, … Read More

Important Nebraska Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for Nebraska Residents
To meet the residency requirement in filing for a divorce complaint in Nebraska, either spouse must be a resident of the State for at least a period of one year prior to the filing. This is also … Read More

When couples divorce, courts in most states usually determine the alimony or the amount of spousal support or maintenance post marriage. The paying spouse, or the spouse with the higher income or the only one with the income, … Read More

Montana Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for Montana Residents
Filing for divorce or “Dissolution of Marriage,” as it is called in Montana, mandates that either of the parties must be a resident of the state for 90 days prior to the filing of papers.
Montana Grounds For … Read More

North Carolina Divorce Law Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for North Carolina Residents
Either of the parties involved in a divorce proceeding in North Carolina must be a resident of the State for at least six months immediately preceding the filing of the divorce action. It … Read More

Critical North Dakota Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for North Dakota Residents
In order to file for a divorce petition in North Dakota, either the petitioner or the respondent must be or have been a resident of the state for 180 days prior to filing.
North Dakota Grounds … Read More

Important New Hampshire Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for New Hampshire Residents
In filing for divorce in New Hampshire, these are the following considerations: Both petitioner and respondent must be residents of the Granite State, and the filing spouse or petitioner must be a resident for … Read More

Kansas Divorce Law Requirements
Divorce Residency Requirements in Kansas
To file for a divorce in Kansas, one must be a resident of the Sunflower State for at least 60 days.

Kansas Grounds For Divorce
The state of … Read More

When it comes to various state divorce laws, California stands out as the first one to implement the concept of the no-fault divorce. Any couple filing for divorce in the Golden State can do so if their … Read More

Louisiana Divorce Law Requirements
Divorce Requirements for Louisiana Residents
The filing spouse may file the Louisiana Divorce Petition in the State of Louisiana if he or she meets the following residency requirements:

The petitioner must have lived in Louisiana for the past 12 months prior to the filing.
The divorce papers must … Read More