Divorce Articles

Divorce articles to help get you through a divorce

Arkansas Divorce Law Requirements
Divorce Requirements for Arkansas Residents
The petitioner may file the Arkansas Divorce Complaint either in his or her county of residence in Alabama or in the county where the respondent lives.   

Either or both parties must … Read More

Texas Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce

Divorce Requirements for Texas Residents
Filing for divorce in Texas requires parties to satisfy the residency requirements first.

Either of the spouses must be a resident of the Lone Star State for six … Read More

Understanding Arizona Divorce Laws
Divorce Requirements for Arizona Residents
The petitioner filing an Arizona Divorce Complaint must have sufficient evidence that he or she is a bonafide resident in Arizona for at least 90 days prior to the petition. The same is applicable if … Read More

Michigan Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for Michigan Residents
In filing Michigan Divorce papers, one must satisfy Michigan’s residency requirements: The divorce petitioner must be a resident of the Wolverine State for at least 180 days and a resident of the county where the petitioner has … Read More

Mississippi Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for Mississippi Residents
To satisfy the residency requirement in filing for divorce in Mississippi, either the petitioner or respondent must be a resident of the Magnolia State for 180 days.
Mississippi Grounds For Divorce
When it comes to divorce, Mississippi … Read More

Missouri Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for Missouri Residents
Any of the divorcing parties must be a resident of the State for 90 days immediately prior to the filing of the Missouri Divorce Forms. The residency requirement must first be met when filing for divorce or … Read More

Maine Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce

Divorce Requirements for Maine Residents
Any of the residency requirements must first be met in filing for divorce in Maine. The petitioner must have lived in the Pine Tree State for at least six months preceding the … Read More

Understanding the New Jersey Divorce Laws
Divorce Requirements for New Jersey Residents
In filing for divorce in New Jersey, either the petitioner or the respondent must be a legal resident in the Garden State for at least one year. However, there can be no determined time limit in certain cases … Read More

Understanding New Mexico Divorce Laws 
Divorce Requirements for New Mexico Residents
To file for divorce in New Mexico, the following residency requirements must be satisfied:

One of the spouses must be a legal resident for six months prior to the filing.
Either of the parties is physically present in the … Read More

“How do I start the process?” This is the question you will most frequently ask if you consider filing for a divorce. Know that every state in America has a different set of requirements and … Read More