Kentucky Divorce Law Requirements
Divorce Requirements for Kentucky Residents
While most states require 60 days, the Bluegrass State requires each divorce petitioner or respondent to be a resident of Kentucky for at least 180 days in order to qualify in the residency requirement for divorce. Otherwise, the Kentucky Divorce Courts will not find jurisdiction over the petition.
Kentucky Grounds For Divorce
There is only ground for divorce in Kentucky, which is a No-Fault State, and that is the irretrievable breakdown of the marriage. Either party only needs to prove that there is no chance for the marriage to be saved.
Child Custody Law in Kentucky
In divorce situations, parents either share joint custody, or one parent has sole custody while the other has visitation rights. Either divorcing parents share decision-making, or one parent has the final say on issues, such as the child’s choice of school or hospital. What is important is that the best interests of the child is determined, and equal consideration be given to each parent or any de facto custodian.
Among others, the following factors are considered when courts rule on child custody:
- Wishes of the child’s parent or parents or any de facto custodian, as to his custody;
- Wishes of the child;
- Interaction and interrelationship of the child with his parent or parents, his siblings, and any other person who may significantly affect the child’s best interests;
- Child’s adjustment to his home, school, and community;
- Mental and physical health of all individuals involved.
Guidelines for Kentucky Child Support
As with most other states, Kentucky child support guidelines are based on official child support guidelines and on the income shares model for calculating child support. Monthly support is determined through proportionally divided based on each parent’s income.
Where to file for a divorce?
Kentucky divorce forms can be filed in the county where either petitioner or respondent resides.
For a fast and inexpensive divorce process, you can file Kentucky online divorce forms.
Refer to the “Divorce Requirements for Kentucky Residents” above and also review the top online divorce sites.
In case either of the parties deny under oath or affirmation that the marriage is irretrievably broken, all relevant factors to the petition and the prospect of reconciliation are considered. The courts usually conduct a finding whether the marriage is irretrievably broken, then set the matter for more hearings not fewer than 30 but not more than 60 days later, or sooner. The court may suggest to the petitioner or respondent that they seek counseling.
Need information for a different state?
You may also visit the Kentucky Courts for more information