Oklahoma Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Divorce Requirements for Oklahoma Residents
In filing for divorce in Oklahoma where it’s legally called dissolution of marriage, the residency requirement must first be met such that either the petitioner or the respondent must be a resident of the State for at least six months prior to the petition.
Oklahoma Grounds For Divorce
Oklahoma recognizes both no-fault and fault-based grounds for divorce.
The no-fault ground is incompatibility while fault-based grounds include:
- Fraudulent contract
- Imprisonment of one spouse for a felony conviction at the time the divorce petition was filed
- Gross neglect
- Alcohol abuse
- Abandonment for at least one year
- Extreme cruelty
- Insanity, where the spouse has been held in a mental institution for at least five years and with dismal hopes of recovery, as proven by medical records and testimonies of experts.
Child Custody Law in Oklahoma
Divorce courts in Oklahoma prioritize the child’s best interests and welfare. The courts shall consider the preference of the child if the child is 12 years old or older, and is capable of making sound decisions.
For parents who are asking for joint custody, they will be asked to submit a joint parenting plan where they detail important items such as their living arrangements with the child and their agreed child support obligations. They may submit their parenting plans either jointly or separately.
There’s a 90-day waiting period for the divorce to be finalized if there are minor children involved. Within this period and as may be required by the court, parents must submit proof of parenting classes they attended.
- Wishes of the child;
- Wishes of the child’s parent or parents;
- Relationship of the child with the parents and siblings;
- Child’s adjustment to home, school, and community;
- Interaction and interrelationship of the child with a parent or parents, siblings, and any other person who may significantly affect the child’s best interests; and
- Mental and physical health of all individuals involved.
Guidelines for Oklahoma Child Support
Oklahoma follows an official set of guidelines in arriving at child support decisions. In figuring out how much parents should shell out to support their child after the divorce is finalized, the State of Oklahoma uses the Income Shares Model.
Monthly child support is determined with the application of these guidelines and the proportional division of each parent’s income as well as the reasonable expenses in rearing the child, with emphasis on his or her well-being and best interests.
For a fast and inexpensive divorce process, you can file Oklahoma online divorce forms.
Refer to the “Divorce Requirements for Oklahoma Residents” above and also review the top online divorce papers sites.
Where to file for a divorce?
The Petition for Dissolution of Marriage in Oklahoma may be filed in the district court of the county where the petitioner has been a resident of at least 30 days immediately prior to the filing.
Divorce mediation in Oklahoma can facilitate in saving time and money under the radar of privacy. The mediation process assists both parties in finances and children concerns as private family matters, while evading the publicity surrounding divorce litigation as a public, adversarial practice. Divorce mediators are trained and neutral professionals, or neutral third parties helping couples resolve issues related to their post-married life.
Need information for a different state?
You may also visit the Oklahoma Courts for more information